RSS Feed

14. Berry Galette

Posted on

We have actually made two versions of this fun, homey pie-like thingie. The first was pretty much by the book and the second was just for fun. The photos are of the first galette. Blueberries galore. We liked it. The second we fudged a bit and used part of the pie dough left from the Blueberry Nectarine Pie of No. 13. Barney had a school friend stay over and we just threw in nectarines, blueberries, peaches, and fresh cherries and it was glorious! Our guest had quite a treat. -Deborah

Lizzy and I had a lot of fun making it with everybody. She isn’t exactly the best chef ever, but we helped her out, plus she had fun doing it. The galette turned out really well and I liked it a lot. :) – Barney

It was fun to help Lizzy and she kind of got the hang of it after a while. I liked the first and second galette, but the second one had a really nice crust with the pie dough. The cherries had a lot of juice in them and that helped with getting the crust a little softer. The homemade whipped cream tasted very good on the galette, and the whipped cream was good after a few hours in the fridge. It was a little more fluffy than it was just after being whipped. -AJ

20120806-224937.jpg

20120806-224949.jpg

20120806-224958.jpg

Lisa of Tomato Thymes in the Kitchen and Andrea of The Kitchen Lioness were the hosts this week. You can find the recipe and good ideas for baking on their blogs. Our raison d’etre and always in the medals is Tuesdays with Dorie.

About doverfolks

Deborah, Barney, and AJ. Mom & two teenage daughters who will be baking from "Baking with Julia" by Dorie Greenspan. Joining us in March, we now have daddy David on the baking team.

18 responses »

    • Thanks! Love your posts. We are in rural Arkansas and often have to improvise ingredients. Surprisingly successful, so far. You have inspired us to bake something special in honor of Julia.

      Reply
  1. I like all the different fruit you added–I’m sure it was a gold medal dessert!

    Reply
  2. This is a perfect dessert to make with kids – I bet they had as much fun shaping it as they did taste-testing!

    Reply
  3. Lovely with mixed fruits! Using the pie dough is a great idea and any fruit works really.

    Reply
  4. My daughter and I had thought about making the galette with cherries, but were to lazy to pit them!! Glad the kids enjoyed them!

    Reply
  5. Fresh cherries sound delicious for this one! I love that you’re all baking as a family. So much fun!

    Reply
  6. Looks like a fun project for all – and it is very helpful to have extra hands when pitting!

    Reply
  7. Looks great! I used the pie dough as well. Worked like a charm.

    Reply
  8. Wow, it looks sooo blue…tiful!
    Now I know what to do with the rest of the pie dough I’ve freezed: thank you.

    Reply
  9. We had ours with ice cream, but whipped cream sounds delicious!

    Reply
    • You and your child look sublime. Treasured, precious moments. Thanks for your comment. It is so hot here this summer ice cream is always a good idea, but we were out. Heavy whipping cream to the rescue.

      Reply
  10. I wish I had used the berry-nectarine pie dough for my Galette. I just had a difficult time with that pastry dough and you all didn’t seem to mention that. Wasn’t this delicious? Despite the dough problems (and I will go with the pie dough next time), I loved the look of this rustic pie. And, merci, for the heads up on the Google Doodle this morning. I usually open to the it but have changed my home page. I would have missed it. Such a fun doodle and everything that Julia was about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

