RSS Feed

18. Cranberry Walnut Pumpkin Loaf

What a pleasant surprise! Now that we have gone through the process we are no longer intimidated by the two-day timeframe. My husband is not really an experimenter when it comes to evening desserts, so I made brownies in addition to the CWP loaf. The brownies are still in the pan. We all kept going back for more of the CWP loaf. It is not really sweet but the cranberries (dried) and nuts on the pumpkin palette was a perfect blend. It did not rise as much as I thought it might, but it is light and yummy so live and learn.
The recipe is from Baking with Julia and can be found on GingersKeeper’s blog . Read about other bakers’ results at Tuesdays with Dorie/Baking with Julia.

20121001-215901.jpg

About doverfolks

Deborah, Barney, and AJ. Mom & two teenage daughters who will be baking from "Baking with Julia" by Dorie Greenspan. Joining us in March, we now have daddy David on the baking team.

10 responses »

  1. I think dried cranberries are definetly the way to go with this recipe. I used frozen cranberries and they were too tart. It definetly says something great about your bread if you skipped the brownies to have the CWP loaf!

    Reply
    • My husband is full of surprises! The girls both liked it, too. I did put a sticker on the brownie container that they were not for breakfast, just in case anyone gets any ideas about finding out what they missed. My husband get them ready for school on Tuesdays. Again, there have been surprises in diet and attire.

      Thanks for reading our blog!

      Dr. Barber ATU iPad

      Reply
  2. This was delicious but brownies are my favorite food group! Have a great day.

    Reply
  3. We love that this bread is not too sweet also. I never thought of serving it for dessert, but I think it might make a yummy bread pudding.

    Reply
  4. I made it twice as I did not find any frozen or dried cranberries.
    The first time with cranberry in juice (impossible not to squeeze them) and the second time with dried sugared cranberry (how do you call them craisins?).
    I like it toasted with butter for breakfast.

    Reply
  5. Same here–it just keeps disappearing! Glad you’re enjoying it!

    Reply
  6. I love the pop of fresh cranberries. This bread does make for good toast in the morning to go alongside a good cup of joe.

    Reply
  7. You’ve got a whole baking team!! let alone eating team! Toasting this bread is wonderful. Blessings, Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

    Reply
  8. I enjoyed the fresh cranberries and I agree that a two-day baking process is not so intimidating at all anymore!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

