7. Hungarian Shortbread

Disclaimer. I am sick with a cold and although my medication is fun it does not enable me to follow simple directions. I separated the eggs then put the whites in instead of the yolks. One advantage to my medication is a devil-may-care attitude, so I threw the yolks in, added more flour and sugar and carried on. I have taken the finished product out of the oven and it smells yummy. No matter what, it will not be the worst thing I have ever cooked. No way. Barney is sick, too (the germ carrier of the bunch) and AJ is painting pictures for her teachers. Best to leave mom to muddle on alone.  No need to mention, I am sure, that I did NOT make homemade rhubarb jam. David said, “Delicious” but that probably had something to do with his expectations.

We will probably try this again when we are running on all cylinders.

Hungarian Shortbread was hosted by Lynette of 1smallkitchen and Cher of The Not So Exciting Adventures of a Dabbler…   You can investigate the MotherShip at http://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/  … the blog to whom we all pay homage at least twice a month.  And they deserve it!  Thanks for the experience!

10 thoughts on “7. Hungarian Shortbread

  1. ugh it sucks when you are sick and mis-read instructions… i do that a lot lately with my pregnancy brain ! 🙂 hope you feel better soon!

    1. Congratulations on your pregnancy! Yes, I hope to be better soon. End of the semester is always tiring, but summer looms ahead, so rest should help. Deborah

      iPad

      1. LOL, yes it should! 🙂 and thanks! I’m almost at the end of it and can’t wait! Enjoy your time off while you can!

  2. I’ve made more than my fair share of mistakes when baking and cooking (even when feeling fine) so kudos so persevering. This is a very delicious if very rich recipe.

  3. I hope you feel better soon. Don’t you wish that sometimes we could call in the maids when we are feeling like that?
    Sounds like you had a great result – well done!

  4. I’m impressed that you managed it at all when you were under the weather. Your next attempt will be all the better for having had a dry one.

Leave a Reply

