32. Fresh Rhubarb Upside-Down Baby Cakes

It was like discovering a new color!   I have never had rhubarb. I am from Alabama and it was not something my wonderful mother ever cooked or even thought about cooking. Probably. Anyway, the girls and I were very brave and cooked this recipe as written with two exceptions.  No bourbon, so we used rum. No little pans, so we used a 10.”  It was easy and yummy! with homemade whipped cream, of course!

Tuesdays with Dorie has lots of other folks who baked the same thing this week. Wonder if it was as fun for them?

Rhubarb fun!

7 thoughts on “32. Fresh Rhubarb Upside-Down Baby Cakes

  1. Rhubarb is fun! It adds a fun tart taste to a sweet yummy dessert. we have it growing in our back yard–very convenient. I thought this was one yummy dessert–I will try it with other fruit this summer. Glad you enjoy your first bite of rhubarb!

  2. Rhubarb is a good thing. Glad you got to try it. It is too early for rhubarb here, so I used mangos….but am looking forward to trying it with rhubarb soon.

  3. If my memory serves me right, I have only cooked with rhubarb once or twice before – a long time ago. I reveled in the color! This was a wonderful dessert to say the least, and so many possibilities!

    1. I read your post before making our cake. Thanks for the suggestion about the size pan and to feel free to substitute ingredients. We live almost 30 minutes from the nearest liquor store, so using the rum at hand saved us from the drive (expense & eco-guilt).

Leave a Reply

